Deaflympic Games

Summer Deaflympic Games Winter Deaflympic Games    

Summer Deaflympic Games
In 1985, Korea dispatched athletes for the first time to the 15th Deaflympic Games held in Los-Angeles. 29 delegates (21 athletes and 8 officers) participated in the 16th Games and 36 delegates (25 athletes and 11 officers) from four events - athletic, football, cycling, and table tennis - participated in the 17th games. However, no medals were won. In the 18th Games, held in Copenhagen, Denmark, 40 athletes for five events - athletic, football, table tennis, bowling, and badminton - competed. For the first time, Mr. Kyung Wan Chae for the 100m athletic and Ms Hye Yeon Park for table tennis (single) won the bronze medals. The Deaflympics are among the world's fastest growing sports events. In January 2005, more than 3,300 deaf athletes and officials from 74 nations participated in the 20th Summer Deaflympics held in Melbourne, Australia. In February 2007, nearly 600 athletes and officials participated in the 16th Winter Deaflympics in Salt Lake City, United States. It was on the 1st of August 1884 that Korea was granted a membership through the governing board meeting held in the Netherlands.

Summer Deaflympic programme includes 20 disciplines

  • Athletics
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Beach Volleyball
  • Bowling
  • Cycling Road
  • Football
  • Handball
  • Judo
  • Karate
  • Orienteering
  • Shooting
  • Swimming
  • Table Tennis
  • Taekwondo
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Water Polo
  • Wrestling Freestyle
  • Wrestling Greco-Roman

Participants in the Deaflympics must be
  • Members of an affiliated National Deaf Sports Federation and citizens of the respective country.

21th 2009 Chinese Taipei 77Countries/2,493ppl Gold 14/Silver 13/Bronze 7 3rd
20th 2005 Melbourne, Australia 80Countries/4,000ppl Gold 6/Silver 5/Bronze 5 10
19th 2001 Rome, Italy 71Countries/2,405ppl Gold 4/Silver 4/Bronze 4 11
18th 1997 Copenhagen, Denmark 62Countries/2,068ppl Bronze 2 38
17th 1993 Sofia, Bulgaria 51Countries/1,705ppl    
16th 1989 Christchurch, New Zealand 30Countries/959ppl    
15th 1986 Los Angeles, USA 29Countries/1,053ppl    
14th 1981 Koln, Germany 32Countries/1,213ppl    
13th 1977 Bucharest, Rumania 32Countries/1,118ppl    
12th 1973 Malmo, Sweden 32Countries/1,061ppl    
11th 1969 Belgrade, Yugoslavia 33Countries/1183ppl    
10th 1965 Washington DC, USA 27Countries/697ppl    
9th 1961 Helsinki, Finland 24Countries/595ppl    
8th 1957 Milan, Italy 25Countries/625ppl    
7th 1953 Brussels, Belgium 16Countries/524ppl    
6th 1949 Copenhagen, Denmark 14Countries/405ppl    
5th 1939 Stockholm, Sweden 13Countries/264ppl    
4th 1935 London, Great Britain 12Countries/293ppl    
3rd 1931 Nurnberg, Germany 14Countries/316ppl    
2nd 1928 Amsterdam, the Netherlands 10Countries/210ppl    
1st 1924 Paris, France 9Countries/145ppl